What are the tricks to starting this 99 YZ 400 f

Jul 28, 2007
I've got this 99 Yz 400 f. I'm new to dirt bikes, and kick starting.

I've litterally destroyed my right leg and foot trying to kick start this beast, it has fired up a few times, and once its on it runs great, but geez i must be doing something wrong.

I've searched all kinds of tips on GOOGLE, all the stuff about priming the motor by holding in the compression release and then giving it throttle while i kick the pedal 5-6 times, then taking my hand off the throttle setting the kick at TDC backing off about an inch and kicking it through smoothly, but i rarely have success.

It still takes me 20-30 kicks to get the thing to fire. I've had friends over and they've had the same trouble with the thing.

And once im able to get the thing to fire up and warm up, when i finally kill the motor and try to fire it back up warm it doesnt want to start AT ALL ! Even with the hot start button, hell i thought this bike was supposed to turn over easier once warmed up.

Im starting to think there is something mechanically wrong with the bike that is preventing it from firing up.

Is there anything i can check on the bike that might help me start this SOB easier ?

I'm getting pretty frustrated with it.

Jaybird

Apprentice Goon
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Mar 16, 2001
Charlestown, IN
I don't think the priming advise was much good.
It's probably why you aren't able to start the beast. (shrug)

If the bike hasn't started in awhile, I would maybe blip the throttle one time.
Then find TDC. After that use the comp release to push the piston just a hair past TDC. Then let the kickstarter all the way back up, let off the comp release, and kick forcefully all the way through. (just like in golf or horeshoes, follow through is important)
Keep your hand off of the throttle during all this. Try holding the brake assembly instead.

Also, check your valve clearances like 6ds suggested. Valves out of spec will cause a hard start.