dewetd

Jun 20, 2005
Hi

I am fairly new to this hobby and I am realizing how much effort it can take in comparison to something like golf, for instance.
Never the less, I will remain strong and focused...for another week or so...then I will probably break down and try to end it all!
On a serious note: My problem is this: The other day I was practising some wheelies. After about 15 minutes the KDX stalled.
I was under the impression that it had run out of gas...maybe it did. I tried starting it up about two weeks later again- without success. It just will not start. I tip the bike on it's side first for a couple of seconds, then I KEEP the choke up and kick it a couple of dozen times. No success. I have replaces and checked the plug (makes decent spark)...still no success. My question is this, can the carb be dirty or blocked? Would the bike just have stopped functioning completely? Wouldn't the performance rather have deteriorated slowly? I am based in the Western Cape, South Africa...temperature might have gone down with 7 degrees Celsius, but I have previously not once had problems starting it- morning or afternoon. It ran without any problems. I am taking the carb apart tonight. If it is not the carb, where should I start looking. I don't think the previous owner had serviced it for at least a year until I bought it.

Regards
De Wet
KDX200 1999

Green Hornet

Apr 2, 2005
When you say "Stalled" did the bike make any loud or unusual sounds?? did you dod a compression test yet? Clean the carb, check the float level & fuel valve (The little bullet shaped thing that the float tang presses against. Check your air filter also, then the reeds if that does not work. Most likely it is something simple, but the hard part is finding it. Oh yeah, STUPID Question "YOU GOT OIL"????

kdx220freak

Registered
Aug 23, 2005