Feb 24, 2004
Hello all--
I have riden streetbikes for 2 years now, currently with a 2000 Honda RC-51 with 4 trackdays under my belt. I get around pretty quick and feel rather confident with it's power.
I'm looking to get a dirt bike to expand my riding knowledge and translate it into better streetbike control. I'm 22, 5'9", 150 lbs. and have been looking at the YZ250f for trail riding with maybe occassional track days. Am I right in assuming that if used with caution at first that I'll be able to have a good handle on this bike after a few months of riding?
Thanks in advance,
Curtis :yeehaw:

TexasAtvs

Feb 15, 2004
I have a 2002 Honda F4i as well as a 2003 250f that I just bought. The 250f is a great bike with excellent power. You should be fine on the 250f having been riding a Rc-51 along with track days. I am still learning the bike and getting a feel for it but its got enough power to never make we want to get off the bike. I recommend getting it... You will enjoy it

john1216

Apr 17, 2002
Curtis Matthews said:
anyone else have an opinion?

Hi Curtis,

In my oppinion any adult human that has ridden a bycycle and is tall enough, which you seem to be, will adapt quicky to the 250F. The only question that remains is will there be enough power after a few rides!

Depending on the terrain I would usually steer users toward a 450. To me this is about the perfect displacememnt for a modern four stroke.

Good luck!

Feb 24, 2004
A 450? I don't know much about the power output of current dirtbikes, but from what I've read the 250f is a damn quick bike. I'd like to start on something that isn't going to boss me around before I can learn to ride well, and while the 250f might do that for a while, the 450 seems like it would be hard to tame. Anyone else agree? :think:

TexasAtvs

Feb 15, 2004