greenman06

Apr 21, 2006
Ok so i have come to the conclusion that dealers dont know what there talking about.

I have a 04 kx 125 that has very little miles on it. The bike is completely stock and runs great at times. I have been using belray 40:1 for the past three months since i have had it.

The bike seems like it loads up with fuel down low when im not whapping the throttle all the time. I also have a spooge issue out of the pipe. My question is how can i clear up the loading of fuel.

I called a few dealers and they all say something different. Some say check the float height, others say use a hotter plug, others say ride it harder.

I know its a race bike and i do ride it hard, but it does seem a pig rich at times. I moved the needle clip to the 1st position and messed with the airscrew but that didnt seem to help much. A guy i ride with says it may be the power valve.

I was hoping someone else has delt with this issue in the past. My next step from reading around is going to try to go down 1 on the pilot jet and clean the power valve and repack pipe. Has anyone delt with this on a 04 kx 125?

SirHilton17

Aug 6, 2005
I have the same bike, and I know exactly what you are talking about...

Change the jetting
here is what I jetted at, but it changes for temps and altitude
Main jet 400 (stock:420)
Pilot jet 35 (stock:40)
Stock needle, in the stock position
Im not sure what about my airscrew is at now,

And by going up to 40:1 with oil you are actually richening you mixture, If I were you I would stick with a good 32:1 ratio, You gain absoulutly nothing running 40:1

greenman06

Apr 21, 2006
thanks for your tips. I m confused tho i thought a 40:1 mixture would be leaner than a 32:1 mixture. That would be 40 parts gas to 1 part oil and 32 parts gas to 1 part oil. Does the more gas or more oil in a mixture make in richer or leaner?

MXP1MP

Nov 14, 2000