denbsteph

Mar 9, 2009
Greetings to all! I'm a newbie to the forum, please be gentle. First off, not sure this is in the correct thread but here goes. I bought a 07 CRF 150 last night and I'm waiting for the owners manual to arrive. According to the owner, It has less than an hour on the motor, by its appearance and tits still on the tires and other factors I agreed. Looking for some guidance on how to break it in properly, initial oil change and other items that need to be taken care of. Back in the day you had to let it run for so much time then sit for so much time. Does that still hold true? I was told 20/50 castrol is what to run in the crank case. No synthetic, clutch can slip. Feed back would be greatly appreciated.

Can't wait to ride, the bug has bitten and it feels good!

May 10, 2007
is this a 150F or a 150R? there is a big difference between the 2. the 150F is a mellow trail bike that you could just go and ride. the 150R is a race bike that is very highly strung. easiest way to tell which you have is look to see if it is air or water cooled. for the 150R you should probably do the heat cycles. ride the bike for about 20-30 minutes then let the bike cool down. then repeat twice. then you should be good. for either bike though you should stay away from extended periods of high RPM during the break-in.

and welcome :ride:

denbsteph

Mar 9, 2009
My bust, it is the F. Thanks for the reply and info. What about oil? change after how many hours? again I dont have my owners manual, waiting for it. I'm anal about oil. I run synthetic in my FZ1, want to do what is right.
Castrol 20/50? stay away from synthetics? thanks again Dennis

B

biglou

Those are very resiliant little bikes. Any good 4stroke motorcycle oil will be fine, synthetic or not. You can run the Honda HP4 or Yamalube 4, etc. I'd change oil every 2-3 tanks of gas, maybe a bit longer if it's ridden very easily.

May 10, 2007