1981 Yamaha IT250 Exhaust and other dumb questions.

Janitor Pants

Jun 13, 2008
Hi guys, I am a newbie here and have been trolling around the site for a little bit, looks like a great site with lots of information. I have been searching but couldn't find what I was wondering so here it goes.

I bought a 1981 Yamaha IT250 a few days ago, overall it is in quite good condition, I am still working out a few bugs with it, but am slowly making progress.

My pipe has a massive dent in it and I am looking into options to pull the dent, I have heard welding rods and heat, air pressure and heat, water and freezers or drilling holes and using a slide hammer followed by brazing. Has anybody tried any of these methods and with what degree of success?

Also I was looking around for aftermarket pipes, I could find pieces for a 1981 yz250, but not the it250, will these pipes interchange, or is there a better option for me.