hammerface77

Feb 16, 2005
2000 kx250 - new to me - suggestions? Pics.

Ok, I just spent the last 15 minutes typing up a long detailed post and explorer locked up and I lost it all. So in short, I just bought this bike, looks pretty tight overall. I have a service manual on the way and will spend the next few weeks before spring arrives doing as much preventative mainenance as I can think of. Greasing, lubing, changing fluids - maybe some bearings if needed, etc etc. Here's some pic of the new ride :) Suggestions and comments are welcome.

I've read all I can find on this bike using the search function and I'm aware of most of it's faults. (linkage bearins, bottom bearing, plating flaking, spongy front brake, etc.) I'm hoping that with regular maintenance I can avoid any major disasters. I ride trails mostly - and I'm not a pro rider or anything so it won't be ridden to it's max potential. Maybe flying through fields at high speeds and some hills & mud. :)

http://www.digistash.com/data/ae87a54e183c075c494c4d397d126a66/full_4971_p57103.jpg

http://www.digistash.com/data/ae87a54e183c075c494c4d397d126a66/full_4971_p57102.jpg

Last edited:

hammerface77

Feb 16, 2005
Oh yeah, for some reason the tires look really worn in the pics. They're actually fine - about 80% tread left which is lots for me :)

Rcannon

~SPONSOR~
Nov 17, 2001
Step one should be to get rid of the black plastic. Black fenders make you look liek a freestyle goon.

Just teasing. The bike looks great. Make sure the top end is fresh and enjoy the bike.

p.s. Black plastic ssells for a lot on the auction site, egay.

WaltCMoto

Sponsoring Member
Jan 1, 2001
Mine has been very reliable for me. Mostly trail ridden on my end also. Keep an eye on that linkage bearing, I let mine go to far and it trashed the linkage it fits into. Other than that, only damage done to it was an ocasional tree jumping out in front of me.

hammerface77

Feb 16, 2005