wildcard

Dec 1, 2002
I am a 175lb expert grade rider. Has anybody got real good suspension settings. Also suggestions on why with stock everything and a plug with good colour has this bike had a barrel and cylinder head replaced twice in two months under warranty and Kawasaki don't know or won't say what the fault is!

steve125

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Oct 19, 2000
Wildcard, detonation is your problem and it can show up even though the plug looks good. Detonation not only can break the tip off the plug, it can also loosen a plug even though you know it's tight. Run race fuel and your problem will be solved. So who's fault is it? Yours from this point on if you keep on running a low grade of fuel.

steve125

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Oct 19, 2000
If it's as bad as he's got it, sure you'll hear it if you know what it sounds like. Sorta like someone's throwing small rocks at the pipe and engine a clicking and pinging sound. 

Eddy V

Jul 13, 2000
Steve,
Is it possible that the detonation problem(if there is a problem) is caused by a bad squish action instead of a compression problem?The compression on a kx is not so high as on a Ktm or a Suzuki.I have measured on my new kx a squish clearance of 1.4mm what can not give a good squish action and will possible cause detonation.Do you know the specifications of the VHM head that is used on the posted Dyno curves because I think the head must give us some power profit when properly adjusted.

steve125

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Oct 19, 2000
Eddie V I think the stock head can be made to work fine with the proper machineing. Your right on the the stock KX's squish, it's too large and it should be around 1mm. But remember a 1mm squish while it will help, still won't allow for a low grade fuel! Race bikes should run race fuel! Especially from the mid level to pro rider. Marcus has the specs for the VHM head and i'm sure he'll see this and give you an answer.

marcusgunby

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 9, 2000