2004 CRF250R will not shift past neutral

dizzysn

Nov 12, 2008
About a week and a half ago I was riding my bike in the woods and didn't realize that I didn't have enough oil in the engine. We stopped for a quick smoke and I forgot to turn my gas back on. We start riding for a bit and my bike starts to sputter and dies. I try to start it back up when I realized the gas was off and come to find the kickstart is stuck in place. After much effort we get the bike back to my house and do a complete fluid change - engine, trans and radiator. I decide to go riding today and when I started the bike up and put it into first it died. I didn't think it was a big deal since it's cold outside now and the bike hadn't been started in a while. As soon as I started riding the bike I realized that it will not shift into second gear. It goes into first and neutral just fine but absolutely will not shift into second - the level goes up but the gear doesn't engage. I also noticed that when I went into first gear a few times oil came out of the transmission over flow tube. So instead of moving oil around in the transmission it just shot it out. I don't have the time right now to find out what's wrong, but any ideas or suggestions for this weekend would be much appreciated as I do not have a lot of experience working on bikes.

Edit: Someone said it could be the crankshaft, but from my limited knowledge of engines if the crankshaft was the problem the bike wouldn't start up or run, no?

Last edited:

Ol'89r

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 27, 2000
dizzysn said:
any ideas or suggestions for this weekend would be much appreciated as I do not have a lot of experience working on bikes.

Sounds like you are about to get some. :nod:

What did the oil look like when you drained what was left in the gearbox? Did it have any metal pieces in it?