rockchucker

Nov 17, 1999
If I whack the throttle wide open the bike bogs momentarily, guess that's the "4-stroke cough" syndrome but the bike doesn't do this if you accelerate smoothly. Is there a way to cure this without having to purchase mods? Would adjustments to the air/fuel screw make a difference? I heard rumors of the carb slides coming out of adjustment on the 426's and caused this problem but then again this was told by a local dealer and don't know how reliable the source is.

ThumpinByYou

May 8, 2001
thumpertalk extensively goes over the BK and p38 mods for both the 250 and 426. Just run a search, one of the guys even has pictures and detailed instructions on the BK mod, I believe his name is motoman358 or something of that sort.

JB

yz250-effer

Nov 4, 2000
Sounds fairly normal?

IF you really open the throttle fast ( to full open ) that sounds normal. I am no expert mechanic by any means, but it seems to me a 4 stroke can not consume fuel as fast as a 2 stroke since it only fires every 4th stroke. So when you crack the throttle real fast when the bike is not under load, the rpm's and fuel consumption may conflict. ( bog out and run too rich for the rpm). I have never felt this on the track on mine and that is all that really matters to me.

rockchucker

Nov 17, 1999
IBWFO - So you did break your arm that day at VC???? Man that really sucks!! I probably won't be at VC Saturday evening as I have a wedding to attend. I'm considering VC on Sunday, never been to Oakhill so maybe I'll give that a shot.