endurotuff

Nov 8, 2004
Guys I'm awed by the CR500AFX. I'm new to enduro (2 years) started on a GAS GAS 300 but just could not ride it and it just stressed me out when it stalled. I'm very short (5'6") and sometimes flameouts happened on the worst places where I just couldn't fire it back up. So I decided to sell it and bought a CRF250X great bike and have learned to ride it "well", the E button is great! We race in tight single track, rooted, snotty, tight trails (read observed trials stuff) definitely not open bike terrain. But we do have some guys racing in 450f's and some on KTM's 300s E's. I might start by racing against this crowd and need to get some kind of advantage if possible. I wonder if the CR500AFX would be just too much for this type of terrain. I've also "discovered" through this forum the great qualities the Rekluse has. I'm quite certain this would help not only in riding better but with flameouts as well. To all of you who have or have ridden CR500AFXs please post your opinions.

2strokesrock

Oct 7, 2008
Well.... i'm not sure more power is always an advantage, some of the best woods racers use small light bikes like 200s and 250s.
I think a CR 250 would be the best choice.

Tom68

Oct 1, 2007
KTM's taller than GAS GAS, ignore their claimed seat height and sit on one. Sounds like you've got to pick from E starts or small bore easy starts.

AJ Waggoner

Crash Test Dummy
Nov 5, 1999
a few guys ride the AF's and AFX's in HS and enduro..
itas a lot better woods bike than the public realizes as it has a lot of low end torque..
a rekluse Pro makes them a very effective trails woods bike for sure..

member wardy here , races his in HS , maybe he will chime in..

wardy

2005 Lori Nyland Award Winner
Nov 12, 1999