Loughty

Nov 24, 2002
I am looking to buy a 1988 KDX200 and I am wondering what it would be worth. Also, whether it would be better to get it, or buy wait and buy a newer one. Any ideas/opinions on it.
Thanks
Loughty

IrishEKU

A General PITA.
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Apr 21, 2002
Average retail is $545.00, according to NADA. Since you posted no other details about condition that about all I can do to help.

Loughty

Nov 24, 2002
sorry about that. It is completely stock, good running and well taken care of. New tires, chain, and sprockets. Probably 70-80% condition, not new, but not abused either. Was 88 a good year for the KDX? I am kinda new to them.
Thanks,
Loughty

Kenneth. H

Oct 25, 2002
I just bought an 88 for $900. It is in great shape it is well worth the money. I am 40 years old and have been rideing a long time trust me you won't be disapointed with any year model KDX if it has ben well maintained.

dendrz

Nov 23, 2002
My first KDX when i lived in Ireland was an 87 model air cooled, never let me down, i playrode and rode enduros with it, i would love to find a clean one here in Canada, it would be a great buddie bike.
I had a 93 model over here and at present have a Zook DRZ-400S but that 87 brings back memories of fun times.

Loughty

Nov 24, 2002
Thats good to hear that the air cooled 200 doesnt have problems. Can the air cooled ones be ridden wide open (dry lake bed) or do they have to be run in short bursts? I have heard that the jetting leans out in the upper RPMs so I was wondering if that would cause any siezing problems.
Thanks,
Loughty

JCV 220R

Oct 13, 1999