GS_Guy

Nov 13, 2006
Hello all,
I'm an avid street rider, looking to add something more dirt-oriented than my BMW GS to the fleet. I recently got a TTR 90 for my son (his first bike) and don't expect to be able to keep up with him offroad on the pig for long. I'm leaning towards a smaller dualsport, so I can buy a set of 17" wheels for street misbehavior. I could be talked into a non-dual sport machine if I'm giving up too much trail ability going that route.

1) your physical size 5'10, 180
2) How physical / aggressive are you ? pretty aggressive on the street, big weenie in the dirt but I hope to change that
3) what do you plan to ride- MX/SX tracks, woods, fields with friends or ? Mostly trail riding
4) Do you have any riding experience? about 25 years, been a long time since I rode a dirtbike though
5) Do you think you will race ? No
6) Are you mechanically inclined and will you be doing your own bike work? I'm a reasonably competent mechanic, do all of my own maintenance on the current fleet
7) Do YOU have a preferance to a brand/ motor choice (2 or 4 stroke)? More of a 4 stroke guy, but I'm flexible
8) Do you have a dealer close by your home that you might use and what brand(s) does he carry? I can get anything within 10 miles
9) How much do you plan to spend on a bike? As much as I have to
10) anything else that you think would help form an opinion? See above

apb

Feb 1, 2005