PD10913

Apr 1, 2007
I need a bit of general advice about my 98' XR600 and some work I am planning to undertake. I've always been a bit of a horsepower monger and I'm currently looking into ways of giving my 98' XR600 a bit more poke. I realise there are many other breeds out there that will chew up the XR600 but overall I love the bike, it's reliable, pretty much bullet proof and great fun to ride.

Firstly I'm in the process of deciding on a new pipe to replace the stocky which will be more than likely an FMF Powercore 4 or Supertrapp IDS2 as I'm told either of these will give the most power improvement.

Secondly I am looking at a big bore kit taking the 600 to 630 or 654cc, Is this a good or bad idea, bearing in mind I am not a mechanic, nor am I a bike engine guru but I am quite capable of working on the engine as I have pulled apart and rebuilt several in the past, I just don't really understand the implications of carrying out this sort of mod on the bike and what else might be involved.

Any advice would be appreciated and I suppose at the end of the day, I just want to have a bit more of a hobby in working on the bike and possibly then owning an XR600 that is a little bit different.

Jan 3, 2007
The XR600 can also be bored out to a 720 if you felt you needed that much power. On the other hand you will see lots of power gains from taking off the air box lid and rejetting the bike properly. The exhaust will also let the bike breath beter. On the other hand if you buy a very un-restrictive exhaust you will loose backpressure and loose power, but the exhausts you listed would be fine. You might also want to look into getting a new Cam that has a different spec that will shift your power to a more upright and reving kind. Good luck.

PD10913

Apr 1, 2007
That's great, 720! now that would be good fun. I will initially fit the pipe then see where to go from there and I will definitely consider your options as well before I undertake any major engine mods.