texas_moto

Jan 28, 2007
Hi Everyone!

I have been riding street bikes for the past five years and after some pressure from my 13 yr old nephew, decided to sell the street scoot and "get dirty". We both took the MSF Dirt Rider Course at the local Honda dealer, so the next step is a bike. (Gear is not a problem. I am a huge safety nut and riding on the street clearly shows how important the proper gear is!) :nod:

The only motocross/dirt bike I have access to is my brother's 2003 Honda CR250R. It has a ported and polished cylinder, Pro-Circuit pipe and silencer, 52-tooth rear sprocket, and adjustable Factory Connection suspension (175 - 200 lb rider). Naturally, I have a few questions:

1) Is this too much bike for me, both for age/size (35 years old, 6', 190 lbs.) and skill level (MX-dirt beginner/newbie)? If it is too much bike, what would you recommend?
2) I have excellent throttle control on my street scoot. But my brother keeps telling me the two-stroke has to be run wide open or the engine will wear very quickly from carbon buildup. Is this true? Should I stick to a four-stroke?
3) Will dropping the rear to a 49- or 50-tooth sprocket "tame" the bike a little?

Thanks for all of the advice! I am very much looking forward to having some fun with this! :)

robwbright

Apr 8, 2005
At you height and weight I would think a 250 2 stroke would be a great bike to start on - unless you're intimidated by it. Just take your time and get used to the "hit" of the powerband. Most people would not recommend a 125 for your height and weight. Not really enough power and they are more difficult to learn to ride because of the "peaky" power spread.

KTM was making a 200SX for motocross, but I still think the 250 would be a better choice.