firecracker22

Sponsoring Member
Oct 23, 2000
Well our local track opened early this year--normally they wouldn't open for practice until after the spring hare scramble, which is at the end of March.  But the weather has been unseasonably warm--as in tolerable if not decent riding conditions since the first of the year--so Saturday it opened for weekend practice.  I had made plans to take a friend to the ORV park Saturday, so I headed out to the track on Sunday. 

One of the coolest things about riding is seeing all of my riding buddies.  I don't necessarily hang out with them socially but running into them at the track always makes my day.  There were a dozen people out there I knew.  It was actually pretty sparse for the Sunday of the first open weekend--I was surprised that there were fewer than 100 people out there.  Well, maybe--I'm not good at estimating such things.

Anyway, I didn't fall down, but I didn't ride all that fast either.  One of my favorite jumps got cut down and is no longer a jump :think: but not too much has really changed.  I did the easy double and thought really hard about a couple others but ultimately chickened out.  There are 4 on my list right now that I think I can work on:

1.)  There is a small triple right out of a sweet bermed corner that I could double into last year, but it got bigger this year.

2.)  There is a "camel hump" type of jump right out of a sharp corner that I am not too sure about--it's a decent sized gap but an easy landing.

3.)  The triple right after the easy double is small and every time I clear that double, I kick myself for hitting the brakes.  I know it sounds overly ambitious but I feel like it's RIGHT THERE every time I come around.  It isn't a very big distance and I wouldn't even have to give it any more throttle--just land the double and hang on!  I can't explain it but I can just FEEL that it's right there.  I pansy out every time though.