yz250roost

~SPONSOR~
Oct 16, 2000
Hey guys,
Well the other day as I was loading my YZ into the truck to go riding I noticed that the left side part of the frame (engine cradle area) was snapped in two, this isn't just a crack, it's a clean break, then after 3 hours of stripping the bike from the frame, I notice I have two more cracks, one on the other engine cradle and one just below the steering head, the last two cracks are at welds, but the break isn't on a weld. Is it ok to weld the break together, is the strength of the frame going to suffer? I was planning on powder coating the frame eventually so I guess this is a blessing in disguise. Thanks for any insight. I tried a search but came up with nothing.
Jeff

bclapham

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 5, 2001
jeff:

you might be ok to weld it, but i am no expert there. i would be cautious about powder coating though. i have a freind that races KX's, he said he will never powder coat again, since the powder coating might hide the cracks in the frame if it happens again- it happens a lot on kx's. i wonder if your engine mounting bolts were loose?

yz250roost

~SPONSOR~
Oct 16, 2000