Chest Protector with elbow, shoulder, and kidney protection

FruDaddy

Aug 21, 2005
EVS BJ22, it has all that you are asking for and lower spine protection. I have been using one for over 6 months now and I still love it.

essef

Jan 17, 2007
I've been thinking about getting the Six Six One or the EVS ballistic, but how hot does that get under a jersey? Maybe it a case of rather sweat than bleed? What about just going the over-jersey chest protector route?

essef

Jan 17, 2007
FruDaddy said:
You put it on first, then put the jersey on.

I got that part, but the question was more related to a heat issue. I keep getting different answers regarding the armor "suit" (under) vs a regular chest plate (under or over jersey). Being a noob to the dirt, what is the norm?

CHR!S

Jun 30, 2006
the conventional chest protector has been around for longer; body armor like the ones mentioned above are relatively new to dirt. i would get a pressure suit if i had the money, the look like they provide alot more protection.

FruDaddy

Aug 21, 2005
I have recently spoken with a guy that got an EVS for Christmas, he loves his as much as I love mine, they are worth the money.
As far as the question about heat, during the summer, I just don't wear a jersey, the Ballistic has the long sleeves, so it serves the purpose. I also wear under armor under mine; heat gear in the summer and cold gear in the winter. This is partly due to the only complaint that I have about the BJ22, it rubs my chest a little, I expect that this is an isolated issue that would not affect others. With the under armor, I have zero complaints.

Moose

~SPONSOR~
Sep 16, 2006
FruDaddy said:
I also wear under armor under mine

Don't you feel that it makes you warmer?

I know in hockey, with a chest protector, jersey, and elbow pads, the under armour is freaking hot. I can't wait to get my equipment off because that's when it turns cold. Not sure how it'd be outside though.

essef

Jan 17, 2007