sorny

May 26, 2004
I just got a YZ 250 this week, a 99 model. Bike has a new top end, Renthal Bars, some nice stuff on it. It is my very first bike and by very first I mean I haven't even rode a motorized 2 wheeler before ;) Would've learned to ride THEN got a bike but this was an ok deal at $1200. Fires right up on the first kick usually and idles great, choke works great, everything.

Problem I'm having is as soon as I kick it into 1st gear it leaps forward and because I'm not a good rider I'm holding the front brake tight at the same time and it dies. I understand the guy who I bought it from was pretty good, had a few trophies and plaques in his garage and he would just pop it in gear, give it gas and take off. With me being a beginner I'd rather let the clutch out slowly and get a feel for the release point like how i learned to drive a stick shift car.

I don't have any motorcycle friends, they're all into vehicles like I used to be so I have problems getting help with even the simplest stuff like what oil to put in the thing. The guy I bought it from did tell me I might want to replace the clutch cable and if that doesn't help file down the basket or something. At the time we were getting ready to load up the bike so I didn't think nothing much about it. Is either one of these hard to do - replacing the cable or filing the clutch basket? I've read a few threads on here about filing the basket and people just say to do it and not really how complicated it is. If it can be screwed up I can probably do it. I'm used to working on cars, so simple car things (changing oil, tranny fluid/filter, installing headers, etc) I can do.

Edit: Forgot to mention (if it helps) that when the bike is in gear and I pull the clutch in and roll it it WILL roll, but it'll roll and kinda grab and be hard to push then free up and roll another turn and grab again.

Last edited:

njkx

Apr 13, 2004