wildkats

Jun 28, 2005
Hi All,

I've got a some questions on a problem with my RM125 flooding, fouling, and not idling.

Here's the situation: My 94 RM125 (bored to 147) is constantly flooding the cylinder and fouling the plug. I brought it to a Suzuki service location and they 'tuned' the carb and changed the plug. I brought it home and it would start and idle but then after a few days of running it for a few minutes out on the street to check that it still worked it started to flood and foul the plug again.

Now the service dept tells me that the Crankcase seal (clutch side) needs to be replaced.

Here are my questions:

1) Are they full of S$#% about the crankcase seal? Can someone give me a simple explanation as to why that can cause the flooding and idling problems? As you can probably tell, I'm very new to 2-strokes.

2) Could it be that I'm not warming up the bike enough? When I'm at the track I always hear 2-strokers run their engines for about 5-10 minutes to warm them up. I just run it for maybe 1-2 minutes.

3) Which seal is the mechanic talking about? Is it the oil seal on the crank shaft on the clutch side or the crankcase gasket? Anyone know the part number?

4) Do I really need a crankcase separating tool to split the cases or is there some rig I can use with regular tools? Same goes for the crankshaft oil seal. The manual says to use a special tool. I'm thinking just a screwdriver to remove the bad seal and a socket to install the new seal.

5) Last but not least, does anyone have suggestions as to what jet sizes and air screw settings to use for my setup? I noticed that the main jets are already 3 sizes smaller (leaner) than stock.

Sorry for the long post but details make all the difference!

Thanks!!!!

Delius

wildkats

Jun 28, 2005
BTW, I already checked and cleaned the carb, replaced the air filter, checked cooling hoses/radiator for leaks, replaced the coolant and tranny oil with Honda 4-stroke 10-40 weight.

Thanks again.

Delius

MadArrow