Consitering a KTM 250, Questions...

chris_1001

May 11, 2006
Hi All,

I'm consitering a 2006 KTM 250 XC or XCW...

I ride New England woods, trails and powerlines.

First, I'm Not sure which of the two would be better.

Second, What would be the best modes right off the bat?

Third, do I realllllllly need a new bike (I have a 1997 KDX 220). Convince me...

My mind want's one but logic says stick with what I got... I'm working a deal on one so I need to figurre this out by the weekend...

Arrrg!!! What to do,...

Any help would be great!

woodsracer369

~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Dec 3, 2004
Not sure on the XC / XCW - If it were me I would go with the XC

you will need a spark aresstor other than that no mods needed except the usual to suite your personal preference (springs - front and rear to fit your weight KTMs are very sensative, bar bend, seat, steering stabilizer, hand gaurds, etc...) Also need lights if that fits your requirements.

mixed

Oct 5, 2005
I'm no expert but in the last week I have been on a '01 KDX200 and an '01 200EXC, as I am looking for a lite weight fo the mountains. The KTM is at least twice the bike as the KDX. I'm not knocking the Kawi but there really is no comparison in my opinion. I had even made a deal to pay way too much for the KTM when the fellow found he still had a lein on the title. Now I may by a '03 250 EXC site unseen from a dealer I trust. Used bikes are hard to come by here and it costs a fortune to drive 400 miles to look at the few that are there.

HiG4s

~SPONSOR~
Mar 7, 2001