Does anybody here work in Power or Controls?

YZmidLife

Nov 23, 2006
I've worked in the semiconductor test industry for nearly 8 years, but I'm considering a transition to a more stable field. Has anyone here had experience in power or controls? These specialties seem to be more in-demand where I want to relocate (Sacramento). Although I am a registered electrical engineer in California, I have no experience in power, and my controls experience is related to embedded motion-control, not SCADA and PLC's.

What I'd like to know is:
1) How do you like the field?
2) How/where did you gain your experience?
3) What kind of salaries should one expect at 0, 2, 5, 10 years of experience?

Thanks

m4i2k2e2

Oct 8, 2007
by power do you mean becomiong an electrician?

sparkysakitas

~SPONSOR~
Aug 31, 2005
i do the installation part of what your asking mostly the control wiring etc and i love it compared to regular electrical type work (wiring offices etc) as far as gaing experience it seems like the majority of our installations use allen bradley plc's etc i would look into a course in plc programming
you could also pop in to the local union hall in the area your looking to move to they might be able to help you

m4i2k2e2

Oct 8, 2007
im going through my apprenticeship to become a license electrician. its ok. its hard work. its interesting and dangerous. i do commerical work. im working in a school right now. we just got power in the building. 2500 amps at the switch gear. what are you reasons for finding a new job? are you finacially stable right now? depending on what you make now you make take a big pay cut to start off. do you have a family tp support?

IndyMX

Crash Test Dummy
~SPONSOR~
Jul 18, 2006
Amo, IN

I doubt that an electrical engineer wants to change jobs to be an electrician.

I believe he's talking about designing power & control systems. Not wiring houses.

sparkysakitas

~SPONSOR~
Aug 31, 2005
IndyMX said: