Curtis_DT200R

Jul 17, 2008
hey, i am having trouble hitting powerband on my dt, i can hit powerband if i hold the throttle on just a tiny bit but when open the throttle fully it just flattens out about half way through the rpm range? the bike idles and feels fine downlow. it will rev high and freely when not under load. it has just had a topend rebuild, ive cleaned the carby about 20 times lol it feels like its not getting enough fuel (hence why i can hit powerband slowly), im thinking its a air leak sumwhere. ive checked the reed valves and they appear to be fine, i replaced the gasket around them also. ive cleaned the powervalve. any info would be much appreciated. me being a poor uni student i cant afford to get it checked by a real mechanic lol
cheers

GarbatyA4

Sep 4, 2008
I think ur bike is running lean. I'd check ur carburator boot. See if that sealed properly. You don't want to suck in un-metered air past the carb

Curtis_DT200R

Jul 17, 2008
ok thanks, ive orderd new parts for the carby, the rubber oring for the float bowl and the gasket around the throttle mount. just waiting for the parts..... im sure im rebuilding the carby properly, but i dont have a actual workshop manual, ive only got a crappy service manual which doesnt go into much detail, does anyone know where i can find a workshop manual? i tried ordering one from yamaha but they said they cant get one.
cheers

Last edited:

Curtis_DT200R

Jul 17, 2008
ok ive replaced the carb boot and still the same problem... but this time it died after about 2mins of riding?? any advice would be great.... im loosing my mind trying to fix this bloody thing.

GarbatyA4

Sep 4, 2008
Oh, sounds like the same problem I've had.

Ok, can you check to see if ur powervalve is working?

I bet you the linkage isn't hooked up, or something. LOL I put my governor in wrong when i bought my basket case. Definately sounds powervalve related.