old#48

Jun 17, 2002
EngineIce? or Engine Hotter

I don't see how this EngineIce stuff can improve cooling. I work in the HVAC industry (heating, ventilation, air-conditioning) and know a little about the heat transfer of liquids.

Before reading on, please remember the following: The environmental and safety benefits are great reasons to use propylene glycol instead of ethylene glycol. For sure, propylene glycol is much, much safer for kids, pets, and the environment.

EngineIce provides information that they use propylene glycol in deionized water and I am not sure what else - in my opinion, they are not real clear about anything else that is in it. Going by the -27 degF freeze protection they show, in my opinion, they are probably about 50/50 with the DI water, depending on what else is in it.

Well, I think IF the EngineIce coolant does, in fact, show a cooler temperature than regular coolant, then I think the actual engine parts themselves must be holding the heat and get hotter. Why do I think this, because I don't see how EngineIce can transfer heat as well as normal coolant? Why would I think this? Well, read on:

Its fairly common knowledge in HVAC that straight water has the best heat transfer characteristics, 50/50 ethylene glycol/water is next, and 50/50 propylene glycol/water has the worst heat transfer characteristics of the 3. As most of you know, the automotive anti-freeze you buy at the store is ethylene glycol (except for that one "pet safe" brand, I think its called Sierra, which is propylene glycol).