tules

Apr 5, 2008
So I have a lot of experience on the street with sportbikes, and I have some experience on a dirt bike in grass/gravel. I'm going to be hitting up a private (backyard) track in the near furture. flat track/ small jumps. Anybody have any tips for my first time? Going to be on a 100. either my ke or maybe a crf100.

I know it's different than sportbike track riding, so i just need some tips to keep up for first time. Thanks!!!

Last edited:

wake_rider

Feb 21, 2007
You won't be able to keep up your first 10 times out. Dirt riding is just too different than any other bike riding so it will take you a while to get the hang of it. Work on keeping speed up through turns and the rest will come with time, but the biggest difference between first and last is the time it takes to get through the turn. Alot of guys can jump anything and same cc bikes all go about the same speed in straightaways, so the biggest difference is how much speed you carry into the turn and how much speed you carry all the way through. You will very rarely see the good riders coast into turns. They usually have their throttle open all the way into the turn then full brakes for just a moment to get the bike to shift its weight, then it's alot of throttle again right back out of the turn. It will just take a lot of time to get used to that....

Apr 30, 2007
tules said:
So I have a lot of experience on the street with sportbikes, and I have some experience on a dirt bike in grass/gravel. I'm going to be hitting up a private (backyard) track in the near furture. flat track/ small jumps. Anybody have any tips for my first time? Going to be on a 100. either my ke or maybe a crf100.

If you're big enough for a CBR, you're going to be too big for either of those bikes...

Regardless, just take it slow at first, and WEAR FULL GEAR! The chances of a crash are prettymuch 100%.