cicone

Sep 29, 2003
I'm riding a 1990 KDX200 with PC pipe and silencer and airbox mod. In Tallahassee it's 70-80 degrees with high humidity. My mixture is 35:1 and jetting is 38 pilot, cel 2nd from top and 152 main. The question is regarding a mid throttle bog at what I would guess to be at 3 to 4 thou. rpm. I was thinking about going to the middle clip, but wonder if lowering the float from 17mm to 16mm might have an effect?? Or should I go with a bigger slide cutaway? Whan I'm on the pipe it will stand up in 4th gear. It's run running great, but I'd like a little more control at lower rpm's. Thanks, Jay

Chief

~SPONSOR~
Damn Yankees
Aug 17, 2001
If your float height was causing you problems at mid throttle, and at certain RPM's, then it would cause problems at other positions and other RPM's as well. As far as I know the float has a predesignated setting that should stay the same.

I would look at jetting or other things. I'm not an expert on the float height thing, I just never heard anyone ever mention adjusting to anything besides factory spec.

Does your bike have a KIPS valve or exhaust valve? The tension on my exhaust valve spring has a very dramatic affect on mid rpm performance. I have set it back from factory 90 degrees to 45 degrees in the past and it ran a lot flatter at lower RPM's.

The main jet on my PWK will affect lower circuits too.

Hope you find a solution!!!

Joe Chief

CZ511

Mar 2, 2003
Sounds like the clip on the needle needs to be moved up one notch. Raising the clip will lower the needle which will lean your mid range a bit. Cutting the slide is not highly recommended by me, basically you are changing the entire range of the working of the carb as it relates to jetting. Not saying it won't work, but be prepared to change the pilot jet, main jet and needle jet.

cicone

Sep 29, 2003