ComradeJake

Nov 9, 2008
Hey there, I am looking to purchase my first dirt bike. I have some experience on quads, and none on dirt bikes.

About me (using the format in the sticky):

5'10", about 130 pounds (pretty scrawny)

I work out almost every day, I am in pretty good shape I'd say. So I'd be a pretty aggressive/physical rider.

I plan to ride freestyle, I live in the woods, so trails, fields, natural jumps, some freestyle courses, and sand dunes, which are a couple hours away from here. I might get into racing later, but just that for now.

Riding experience is very limited, I've ridden quads a little, never a dirt bike

Probably will not race.

I don't know a lot about mechanics, but I will probably learn so I can work on my own bike, but there are a lot of dirt bike places around here, so if I can't, I am not in trouble.

2 stroke or 4 stroke are both fine with me.

I have a lot of dealers near by, they carry all the big brands (Yamaha, Honda, Kawasaki, etc.)

I would like to spend less than $1,600 on the bike. $2,000 max.

I live in California.

I am 17.

I would like to get a used bike to cut down on price, but I would consider a new one also.

Thanks for your help.

IndyMX

Crash Test Dummy
~SPONSOR~
Jul 18, 2006
Amo, IN
2 stroke 125 is probably the only thing you're going to be able to get for under $1600.

Pick a color, and one that isn't ragged out.

mathd

Oct 11, 2008
lol, when i looked to buy my 125 2 stroke a few week ago.
i could find ALOT of cheap 250 around here, and i found only 1 125 in my price range :S.

For the bike
If your not gonna ride everyday, making the mecanic yourself isnt a problem and if you plan on racing later i would get a 2 stroke mx bike. For the size of the bike i go with a 125 2 stroke.
Or if your gonna get 4 stroke i go with a 250. See what you feel comfortable on the most.

rmc_olderthandirt

~SPONSOR~
Apr 18, 2006
You live in California so you need to know about Red/Green stickers. Here is a website: