csdwarf

Apr 19, 2010
Hey guys, I'm just getting into dirt biking, I can ride on around a field and do pretty well, right now I'm riding my friends old 1988 KDX 200 and its a bit old and i'm looking for a bike.

Im looking into a 1996 kx 125, my friends do woods riding and said they have been starting to get into riding at the pit ( little local motocross track there)

anyway, there is a 1996 kx 125 for sale on craigslist for 350$, it is supposedly good condition except it needs a new piston.

I called the guy and felt it out, he threw the piston away so i wont be able to see it, he claims it didn't have a hole in it and it was "gummed up and the rings were sticky"

He said the cylinder is good and it just needs top end kit and top end bearing, at that point were looking at about 80$ to get the bike up and running.

is this to much of a gamble? what are common problems with these bikes? how are they ect, anything I need to know?

I priced out if worse come to worse case how much it would cost.

Bike - 350
Top end bearing - 10
Piston kit - 75
Full engine gasket kit-55
cranks bearings and seals - 45

That works out to under 550$. but thats assuming the bike is in good condition except the engine.

any opinions wanted

Thanks guys!

Note* I did not know were to post this so I posted it here and in the bike help section, thanks a ton guys!

2strokerfun

May 19, 2006
Used bikes are always a crapshoot. But the fact he took out and threw away a "gummed up" piston is likely a sign the bike wasn't properly maintained. This means you might need sprockets and chains, new brakes, seals and fluids for forks. Shock might be shot. Who knows about the clutch plates and whether or not transmission oil was ever changed or not. Carb will probably need a cleaning and might need a new float valve. You won't know if the cylinder is really good until you inspect AND measure it.