2stroke yz

May 17, 2010
Hey all, I have a 92 YZ 250, 2 stroke. It's got a fresh cylinder, weisco prolite piston, FMF powercore 4, boyesen reeds and every time I get to about half throttle it just points the front end straight at the sky. I'm new to dirt bikes, so is this pretty common? If so how do you hit full throttle and not pull a wheelie? I was looking at putting a 13oz flywheel weight on it. Chuck Steahly from steahlyoffroad said that the 13 oz would make the power a little more manageable. Any advice? Thanks in advance. :whoa:

FNG

May 2, 2008
Yes this is normal, get your weight forward, the flywheel weight does a good job of spreading out the power but it will still have the hit. With the flywheel weight it will help you be in the next higher gear to get you out of the "wheel house" of the motor until you get better. Also getting your jetting right helps the "rideability" of the bike.

Being new to the dirt and jumping on a 250 is definately going to challenge you and you just might find it to be too much.

I have many, many years of 3 and 4 wheelers in my past along with 30+ years of snowmobiling and my 95' YZ250 is still a handfull after 2 summers on it. I have no idea how someone could use all of the power it has on an MX track, let alone for 10 or 15 laps but it is a lot of fun trying.

Get a shop manual for it so you can better understand the suspension and how to adjust it. I spent quite a bit of time on mine before I found how I liked it and it really helped my stamina and control.

helio lucas

~SPONSOR~
Jun 20, 2007
wheight tranfer is a basic skill in mx. to keep you front end down just lean front and to get you back tire to bite (grip) just lean back...
a lower compression ratio may help to tame the hit.

sr5bidder

Oct 27, 2008
a 250 2 stroke is a handfull especially to learn on. I have a buddy who is doing just that, its amazing how well he is doing but he has been hurt several times

his is an89 yz250

YZ__rider

Jan 16, 2010