Has anyone here "big-bored" their 250?

mxPro738

Jan 26, 2002
I was wondering if anyone on this forum has turned their CR/YZ/RM/KX 250 into a big bore (for example 275cc or 285cc).

I would like to know the results of that operation? I am an expert level rider and have an '01 CR250 that I am considering doing this to. It is already built and very fast on top, so my goal us to beef up the low end, add some to the mid-range, and just a touch to the top end, thus broadening the powerband. I think anything more might actually make the bike too much to handle on the MX track.

If you have done this, please share you experiences, likes, and dislikes.

Thanks & regards!

reynome

Sep 1, 1999
I just had Gorr do a 275 kit on my 00 cr 250. I have had to do some serious rejetting and cant give a report on the performance yet. I did get the mid and top dialed in a little and I could tell that the mid was like my old 94 but even more powerful! I am trying to get the low end jetted correctly, I didnt have my powervavle adjusted correctly eithor. It was flapping a little at idle and slightly above, I adjusted it for a little tension and it seems to be working much better now. Eric was dead on when he suggested that could be a source of the lack of low end. Everything he did seems top notch, got the cylendar back pretty quick and am looking forward to dialing it in this sat. I will give you a better update after that.

smarttoys

Sponsoring Member
Apr 29, 2001