jacobm

Feb 10, 2008
Hey everyone, I'm Jake. I guess I'm a newbie.. I've ridin' a few bikes from time to time but never owned one. I need some help finding my first bike..

1) your physical size (both height and weight are important)
- I'm 5'9", just under 200 pounds

2) How physical / aggressive are you ?
-I work out everyday, and I'm a big fellow so..

3) what do you plan to ride- MX/SX tracks, woods, fields with friends or ?????
-See.. this part is confusing.. MX? SX? what are the differences? I have about 20 acers to ride around in and a mile long dirt driveway weaving to the paved road. It's all woods with multiple trails through it from my 4-wheeler. Mud, rocks, sticks, gravel at some places... all of the above. My house is really in a bowl of sorts.. with a hill surrounding me on 3 of 4 sides and my property line runs right along the top of the hill.

4) Do you have any riding experience?
-I've ridin a few bikes, from 125s to a 250 once. I laid the 250 down on a sharp turn in wet grass and haven't been on a bike since. That was about 6 years ago.

5) Do you think you will race ?
-I seriously doubt it..

6) Are you mechanically inclined and will you be doing your own bike work?
-I'm an automotive tech so yes, I'll be doing all the work I can..

7) Do YOU have a preferance to a brand/ motor choice (2 or 4 stroke)?
-From what I've found out so far, 2 strokes are easier to work on and this won't be a dual use bike.. no paved roads at all so I'ma stick with 2 stroke I think. I guess my preference would be honda.. yamaha.. not sure really.

8) Do you have a dealer close by your home that you might use and what brand(s) does he carry?
-I'll be going with a used bike so..

9) How much ($) do you plan to spend on a bike?
-I really want to keep the cost at a minimum on the bike itself. 500-750 would be highly desirable.. seems about right for a used bike doesn't it? Just remember I'm only 20 and the budgets tight

10) Do you live in California?
-No

11) Your age?