HELP! New rider, what do I get for me and what to get for the wife?

jumpingjerry

Jan 26, 2007
Thanks for the Help

I'm new to dirt bikes and am not sure what to get. I rode my buddy's YZ85 and thought it was great, but what would be comparible to it in a 4 stroke? How would the TT-R230 be compared to the YZ85? Leaning for the YZ85. A dealer has two new 2005's in stock for $2820 out the door.

1) your physical size 5'10" 225 pound
2) How physical / aggressive are you ?might get a little aggtessive, but not too crazy
3) what do you plan to ride- MX/SX tracks, woods, fields with friends or ????? will ride woods and fields with familiy and friends
4) Do you have any riding experience?Used to have a street sports bike
5) Do you think you will race ?Nope
6) Are you mechanically inclined and will you be doing your own bike work?Yes and yes
7) Do YOU have a preferance to a brand/ motor choice (2 or 4 stroke)?not sure on brand and not sure yet on 2 or 4 stroke
8) Do you have a dealer close by your home that you might use and what brand(s) does he carry? Kawasaki and Honda 15 miles from home with Suzuki 25 miles from home
9) How much do you plan to spend on a bike?Got about $6000 to spend on two bikes
10) anything else that you think would help form an opinionI'm 32

Also looking for one for my wife. I think a YZ85 would be too much power for her? Was looking at a TT-R125 for her or a KLX-100 What do you all think?

1) your physical size 5'4" 115 pounds
2) How physical / aggressive are you ?not very
3) what do you plan to ride- MX/SX tracks, woods, fields with friends or ?????with friends and family in the woods and fileds
4) Do you have any riding experience?None
5) Do you think you will race ?not a chance
6) Are you mechanically inclined and will you be doing your own bike work?Yes and yes
7) Do YOU have a preferance to a brand/ motor choice (2 or 4 stroke)?no
9) How much do you plan to spend on a bike?Got about $6000 to spend on two bikes