Help. RM 125 Gas spilling out

de5m0mike

May 16, 2008
I just got a 2001 RM 125 a couple weeks ago. Anyway, I was riding it yesterday when I unexpectedly ran out of gas. I figured no bid deal, pushed it back an went to fill up the tank again. That's when I noticed gas spilling out from the overflow tubes that hang down under the engine. The only way I could get it to stop was to turn off the gas line. So anyway, does anyone have any idea what's going on? Why wont the gas stay in? It was working fine a few min earlier.

SpeedyManiac

Aug 8, 2000
Your float height is too high. Clean it first to check that a piece of dirt or sand isn't caught in there. If that doesn't work, re-adjust the height.

de5m0mike

May 16, 2008
I know a little about working on bikes but I'm pretty new to this one. Care to elaborate on how to adjust the float height?

thanks

_JOE_

~SPONSOR~
May 10, 2007
Turn the gas on and tap the float bowl with a RUBBER hammer. They may have just got stuck down. It's probly a good idea to take the carb off and clean it anyhow. There is a reason the needle valve isn't seating.

de5m0mike

May 16, 2008