dpawl

Mar 3, 2004
I am pretty new to working on dirtbikes. I have a 1974 DT360A Enduro and I am having the cylinder bored, head polished and a new 3rd over set going in. BUT the crankcase sat outside w/o any cover all winter, so it got full of water, leaves, dirt, etc. Plus a bit of rust. I decided I would flush it out with some oil and do it a few times to clean it out. Poured the oil in and seemed to really mix well and remove everything. Then I pulled the plug - AGH! Two strokes don't have drain plugs for the crank! I am so used to my 4 stroke quad bathing in oil rather than just getting splashed and coated. This bike is over 300 pounds, and I would really not like to tip it over to get the oil out. Anyone have any suggestions? I was thinking pouring water in and siphoning off the oil from the top, then siphoning out the water. I believe the oil/dirt/crap mixture is too thick to siphon right out of the base. What do you guys reccommend? Thanks in advance.
Doug Pawl 1974 DT360A Enduro, mid restoration.

Ol'89r

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 27, 2000
dpawl said:
BUT the crankcase sat outside w/o any cover all winter, so it got full of water, leaves, dirt, etc. Plus a bit of rust.
I decided I would flush it out with some oil and do it a few times to clean it out.
What do you guys reccommend? .

Split the cases and do it right. There is a very good chance that you have dirt in your main bearing oilways and also in the big end bearing.

Just my $ .02

dpawl

Mar 3, 2004