wolfgangg

Nov 21, 2007
Hi i am a noob to mx and find it very hard taking corners fast. Mostly i am on the sandy side of other riders when cornering

wolfgangg

Nov 21, 2007
Any tips and help ? When do they brake in the corner ? Why does it looks like they are only using their bake brakes ? ect. What to practice about conering techniques ? Any help is good enougth for a noob :)

mkelly04

Jul 27, 2007
Well, the theory is to get on the brakes as late as possible and get on the gas as fast as possible.

The best way to learn imo is follow someone through a corner who is faster then you. You can learn what lines they take, when they brake and when they get on the gas.

mkelly04

Jul 27, 2007
Oh yeah,

Practice! If you really want to figure out corners it will take a lot of practice.

One method that I really like is to set up a figure 8 in an open field somewhere and just run that circuit. It will help you practice left and right tight corners.

bclark001

Sep 12, 2007
trial and error, practice practice practic. commit to what you are doing (i do not use the front brake going into a corner i seem to lose stability) watch videos of people cornering but dont expect to get great fast. it is a long process. slow down on the questions and practice more and focus on cornering, suspension setup, look way down the track not in front of you, weight the outside peg on turns. these are the things to learn first and master these and your own tecnique will arise and you will be great young grasshopper.

practice practice practice no amount of reading is better than doing you just need the basic rules for cornering then do it you will never get faster if you cannot master the slow corner (the faster you go the easier it really is for the most part it) all relys on YOU commiting to it and not having a doubt in your mind that it will go wrong

oh yea if you are looking where you DO NOT want to go, you will go there look ahead

defo26

Apr 23, 2007