bstrange

May 12, 2009
i am new to dirt bike riding but i have ridden 4wheelers, and crotch rockets for a while. I am 6 foot 250 and plan on riding mostly trails and maybe some enduros in the future. I don't know what bike to get or how big. help is much appreciated.

02stampede

Jan 5, 2009
First off, welcome to the boards bro. :cool:
check this link out.

http://www.dirtrider.net/forums3/showthread.php?t=108916

You should really fill this out to get the most help. But in any case, an xr 650 (trail oriented) or 250 2t or 450 4t (mx oriented) will be generally what you should look at given your size and experience with other bikes. They all have their ups and downs. You have to decide what type of ride fits you best, a 4 stroke or 2 stroke. They are completely different animals but can be equally as fast. Just be aware the biggest differences between an mx bike and an enduro/trail bike. The mx will be more powerful and less weight per cc but a lot more maintenance with a rougher ride on trails out of the box. The trail bike is designed to be a bullet proof tank with softer suspension and other commodities such as electric start, brush guards, bigger tank, etc. But, they do weigh 30-50 lbs more depending on the model and arent made for bigger jumps due to the suspension, weight, and distribution of that weight. The great thing about dirtbikes are the options you have when selecting one. I personally, am striving to have one of each type one day. Hope this helps and good luck.

bstrange

May 12, 2009
ry to include the following info in your first post
1) your physical size (both height and weight are important) 6 foot 250
2) How physical / aggressive are you ? moderately aggressive
3) what do you plan to ride- MX/SX tracks, woods, fields with friends or ?????trails with friends
4) Do you have any riding experience?not on dirt bikes mostly crotch rockets and 4wheelers
5) Do you think you will race ? not in the near future