slowdude

Oct 19, 2001
Hello, I am new to KTM, and just bought a used 2000 400exc. I like the bike a lot and Im trying to get the suspension dialed in for me. I see the rebound clicker on top of the roks, but dont see any way to adjust spring preload or compression damping.
Would the stock springs be appropriate for me? I weigh about 155 (unclothed) and ride mainly high speed, bumpy fire roads. I am looking for a plush ride.
Also, the top of the fork legs, at the rebound clicker, is anout a quarter inch above the top of the lip at the upper triple clamp. Is this stock?
Thanks for any help, Colin

Jeff Gilbert

N. Texas SP
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Oct 20, 2000
Retracted advice from posting without sleep .

I would think if the forks are stock your weight would be okay to a little soft.

Last edited:

dawiev

Jun 25, 2002
Hi, I run a 2000, 400SX and I'm a bit more than 155, but close. Jeff is right that the stock springs would be about right for you. But, you've got Upside Down forks and not conventional and thus not the rebound/ comp combination.

The previous owner raised the forks in the triple clamps to make it turn a bit faster, but this might make it more unstable at high speeds, you can try and lower it progressively back to level with the top triple clamp (level is the factory setting). The G-spot will be where it feels as stable as possible at high speeds, but not push the front out wide in turns. The quality and make of front tyre will also play a big role in this.

Make sure that the rebound clicks (at the top) are the same for boths forks. The compression is at the bottom fo the fork - on your back with a flat screwdriver. Make sure they're the same on both sides.
I found that the rebound was way too fast at factory settings, but the compression close. Have fun !

dawiev

Jun 25, 2002
A couple more things -