250girl

Mod Ban
Dec 19, 2007
How does one go about upgrading from a geeky backwoods trail rider on a bike way too huge for her to racing??How do you get into racing??And how good of a rider do you have to be??I have never even been on a track,or gone over a jump(on purpose anyways).All of these technical instructions on how to ride a bike through corners and over jumps and how much gas to give it when and where confuse the heck out of me.I never learned to ride like that.I just went out alone on the 250(which I was utterly terrified of for the first 4 months)and hung on for dear life.I have been riding the trails almost every day for about 3 years now,and have learned how to handle it a lot better,and not drop it when I stop :laugh:But I love going fast,and would love to get into racing or freestyle jumping.So do I have any chance of ever racing,or do I have to be a more experienced rider?

And if I can do it,how do I get into it?And are you required to have certain protective gear? I currently ride in jeans,runners and whatever shirt I happen to be wearing(I have quite a few injuries and scars to show for my lack of gear).The only gear I have is a new helmet,gloves and a pair of way too huge biking boots that I don't wear.

One more question,is there a minimum size/height for riders who want to race on a 250?I am about 5'6'' or 7'' and weigh roughly 135,more when I am more fit and in shape(it is winter,I am being lazy and out of shape) :nod:

I am sorry if I sound a little dumb,I know nothing about racing.But any info would be greatly appriciated,thanks everybody,

250girl

Last edited:

Douglas777

Sep 19, 2007
Start Racing:
1. Find a track you can visit regularly.
2. Go to open practice every chance you get.
3. Master ONE track first.
4. Register to race that track on the weekends.
5. Start winning in the beginner class
6. Find a new track and repeat 1-5.
7. Step up a class