I Love My Bike

MY KDX 220 R

Feb 9, 2005
I took my 220 out on her first real ride (definate chances of doing damage to bike and rider - type of ride)
Boy am I impressed with the handling and low down grunt of the stock 220, I am by no means an expert on riding etc, but my green baby hauled my fat 220lb ass around Loratta Lynn's trails at times much faster than I really wanted to be going.
Fork springs - will be a priority, but untill I discover what type of terrain I will be riding the most, will wait to choose which mod's to have.
Many other colors out there with alot more "volume" and "latest technology" under the saddle but not really making such a huge dent in the green presence and performance. You gotta love these machines. :laugh:

Feanor

Aug 10, 2004
Congratulations on your new ride!

I know exactly what you mean about the other color choices out there. There are definitely quite a few excellent alternatives. I wasn't really strapped for the cash outlay when it came time to purchase this, my very first motorcycle of any type whatsoever, so I agonized quite a long time over the choices... The KDX ended up suiting my needs perfectly because, as a beginner, its low speed handling and nimbleness was a plus, as was its low cost and even lower requirement for mechanical aptitude compared to the latest and greatest 4-strokes. KDX's are SO easy to work on even for someone as inept as me!

Also, and this is much more subjective, but being over 40 I just have it drilled my mind over the years what dirtbikes are suppose to sound like! *laughing* They're supposed to go "RIIIIINNNNGGGGG-ding-ding-ding!" NOT "BRRRRRAAAAAPPP... BRRRRRRAP....BRRRRRRRRAP!" haha!

Feanor

Braahp

~SPONSOR~
Jan 20, 2001
No........ here is what they sound like! hehehe

Wow wasn't Lorettas awesome?! Did you try the single track stuff?
I love those rides there! Brutal but awesome.

[MP3]http://www.dirtrider.net/forums3/attachment.php?attachmentid=7504.mp3[/MP3]

Attachments