I need the low down here!!! Real world experience

Monkey Butt

Jun 1, 2000
DRZ400E vs. KTM 400/45EXC......Is there any comparison between these two bikes. I still here the KTM calling my name.

BIO: "X" racer who loves to play ride on tight trails and knarly hills. I also get off on some open terrain that allows me to just fly, but my back won't let me do much jumping at all. I am also doing some dual sport riding, which consists of taking a country road to some trails or to look for some trails. I don't intend to race this bike unless I get in an enduro, which I have never done before. I might participate in a dual sport event or two. HEIGHT 5'8", weight 155 lbs, "B" class harescrambler when I race.

I just sold a 200exc, which I loved, and was disappointed in the 2002 DRZ400E when I first got it, but I am getting used to it now. I sold the 200 because a perminant injury was slowing me down and I didn't think I would ride aggressively again. A few short months later and I am finding myself on the pipe again and having a blast. I am getting used to the DRZ and learning how to make it work but I am seriously contemplating buying a 400/450EXC to replace it. We all know how hard it is to sell a 2 month old bike and get what you need out of it, so I am thinking about buying a KTM and having both bikes until I can sell one (probably next spring). I am sure I can swing it if I am creative but I don't have unlimited funds, so I don't want to buy a KTM only to find out that it isn't what I need.

I need some real world comparisons between these two bikes for the kind of riding that I described. I didn't buy the KTM initially because it is more or a race bike and I didn't think it would suit me as well for play riding and dual sporting. As I said before though, I have turned things up a notch or two and am riding harder than I thought I would, but no racing.