impartial and honest advice from 4 stroke experts please.

syko

Jan 10, 2004
Hi guys.
Just wanted a bit of advice before i start parting with my hard earned cash.
I've been riding 2 strokes all my life but I got the chance to ride an YZ250f 04 yesterday and fell in love with it.
I want a four stroke but I've always put it off because of the horror stories i've heard about them going bang.
so basically i want to know how hard are they to maintain, what are the chances of them going bang REALLY! and what do you need to do to keep them ticking over nicely.
Bearing in mind i'm not a great mechanic and i struggle with 2 stroke maintainance a lot of the time so is a four stroke just gonna give me one big headache and a very empty wallet.
cheers guys.

jmics19067

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 22, 2002
change the oil and filter often, keep the air filter clean, keep it off the rev limiter, and keep an eye on the valve adjustment and you should have a reliable bike. If you notice something wrong repair it then to avoid a catastrophic problem.There is nothing "BAD" about four strokes except the misconception of having to do no maintenance. That is when things get real ugly, real quick.
Plenty of discusions on how to avoid issues just peruse the archives.

CaptainObvious

Formally known as RV6Junkie
Damn Yankees
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 8, 2000
Valve checks take less than 5 minutes. When they go out of range, you remove the cams and change the shims...20 minutes.

The advice I got from Rich Rohich (for a Yamaha 250) was when I need a .170 shim to keep the valves within range, it's time for a valve job. I will follow that as gospel.

As Jmic’s said, keep it off the rev limiter, change the air filter and oil often (just like on a two stroke) and there is no reason to expect that the engine will be some kind of time bomb. I use a stainless steal oil filter and clean the oil filter every-other oil change.