jaguar

~SPONSOR~
Jul 29, 2000
South America
RJ I'm just a struggling human like you trying to understand this. I'm not an engineer from keihin. I'm just going by available literature and conventional knowledge.
I don't know why you're not measuring 2.745 unless it's your old needle which may be worn down. (mine is and needs to be changed)
Yes it can be between two letters when theres not a direct match.
"I don't think so"? Do you not agree that moving a needle up higher (with a shorter L1 or a lower clip position) will make it richer? Higher means the part of the taper at the level of the jet will be smaller diameter thereby allowing more gas/oil to be sucked into the carb throat.

RJ-KDX

~SPONSOR~
Aug 12, 2002
Jaguar; The needle that I pulled out o fmy carb has R1173L stamped on it. The straight section measures 2.692mm. That is what I am getting for the diameter.

I don't know why you're not measuring 2.745 unless it's your old needle which may be worn down. (mine is and needs to be changed)

That may be the case. I do not think it is like a BEP because of the diameter difference(.002").

How does it run off-idle and WFO if your 1173L is clipped in the top notch?

Haven't tried yet, off-idle seems to have a boggy throttle. Don't get me wrong I don't want to get into a pissing match with anyone. I put out all the info and I get back answers from people that don't have any merit to the situation. Honestly, I appreciate your help. I just get a little pissy with some folks here. :p

Also, thanks Dan. :thumb:

BRush

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jun 5, 2000
Originally posted by jaguar
The only difference between the 1173L and BEP is that the BEP has an L1 almost 1mm shorter which means that for the same clip position it is richer.

How does it run off-idle and WFO if your 1173L is clipped in the top notch?

jaguar,

Since the L1 dimension for a BEP needle (R1173J) is 38.15 mm, your message implies that the OEM "L" code translates to 39.15 mm.