KDX 200 From Stock Pipe to FMF

copyguy

Dec 9, 1999
This is Copyguy's wife....

My '02 KDX 200 was in a head-on collision yesterday which trashed the stock pipe. I just started riding in April and am comfortable on the bike as it was, which is basically stock (minus half the air box lid). Is there a significant difference going from stock to FMF? I think my hubby wants to go with an FMF replacement, but I'm afraid that's going to surpass my skill level at this time. Any objective opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Mac

LIFETIME SPONSOR
May 17, 2000
You will definately feel a power increase going to the FMF. There are two FMF pipes offered for your bike. I would recommend the KG-35 because it is a little tamer than the KG-30.

Many KDX'ers replace their stock pipes so I bet you could find a cheap stock replacement in the for sale forum.

G. Gearloose

Pigment of ur imagination
Jul 24, 2000
If you like the way it ran before and not looking for more juice, I think Mac is on target..
If you jet to make it run cleaner via jetting, the stock pipe (or K35) may help keep the powerband in check for a (I'm only guesing here) less agressive style.

Tell hubby to get his own KDX! ;)

Last edited:

jamin326

~SPONSOR~
Oct 29, 2002
your lucky that's all you trashed in the head on collision, i was in a head on collision end of last season that snapped the right side lower fork tube, shattered the wheel hub and mangled the wheel, crushed the pipe and cracked the engine cases, not to mention the broken thumb i got and the broken right leg the guy i hit got, anyways, i don't think you would find the addition of an fmf pipe too much to handle it's all in how you use it, in your case though i would go with the torque pipe and not the rev pipe

copyguy

Dec 9, 1999
Thanks for all the input! I think I'll bite the bullet and go with the FMF torque pipe rather than feeling like we're throwing money away on a stock pipe only to replace it down the road.

Zerotact

~SPONSOR~