lookin for a good bike to race...

Scrubby

Mar 20, 2005
Hey guys, Its time to get back into riding but instead of just going out and getting the YZ125 like i originally planned i thought i would ask for some other opinions... and im gonna try to keep it in the same format as the sticky:

1) I'm 18 yrs old, around 6'01'' and 175lbs
2) on a 1 - 10 scale of aggressiveness (10 being extremely aggressive) i would consider myself a 7 or 8
3) I plan on riding on some trails and woods but mainly local tracks... and i am making my own "homemade" track in a field behind the house so i'll be riding that a lot too
4) I have about 7 years of riding experience (with an old xr100 & 200) however none with a 2 stroke
5) i will most definately be racing once i get used to the bike
6) i will be doing all of my mechanical work myself unless there is some major mechanical problem
7) I am looking to buy a 2 stroke and i have always heard good things about yamahas so possibly a YZ
8) I'm willing to spend up to 3500, which i figure should be plenty of money to find a nice bike

I am also wondering what would be better a 125 or 250.. i want a bike i will be able to manuver really well and that will be aggressive on the track so if you can help me out i'd really appreciate it!!

blanc

Dec 18, 2002
I would get a 250 if i was you. Too big really for a 125, you sound confident with your riding so try the 250....A TM or GasGas are great bike if you can find one. If you must be boring a yz250 with a fww would be great too

Scrubby

Mar 20, 2005
Thanks for the input guys! i was actually considering a 250 over a 125 but i was afraid that it would be a bit too much since i have no experience riding 2 strokes... since im just starting out with 2 strokes should i learn first on a 125 or go straight to the 250?

CaptainObvious

Formally known as RV6Junkie
Damn Yankees
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 8, 2000
Scrubby said: