More problems with the RM 250 Reving like crazy!

1998RM250

Nov 5, 2008
Well after taking the carb apart numerous times, ive made sure the slid and everything is working properly. When i pulled the bowl off I noticed there was some really thick oil in the jets, I'm wondering if i left the fuel line on when I dumped the oil in first? Either way there was fuel in the carb and it definately seems more like an air leak to me. Sorry to hear about the car Dave, I have a suzuki manuel but I really need to get a clymer's. I drained the fuel remixing it, and will try again but I doubt its going to make a difference. Thanks for all the help everyone its greatly appreciated.

whenfoxforks-ruled

Old MX Racer
~SPONSOR~
Oct 19, 2006
Merrillville,Indiana
While I have never tried straight pre mix oil before, (man at the hp increase!) I do know a guy, he tried blocking off the jets to see the difference? The engine WILL draw fuel some how, and through the damnedest places? I have yet to hear someone yanking the right crank seal and running straight pre mix oil in the tranny? Back to the issue, an advanced ignition could be an issue for high revs? What does the plug say? You should be able to tell if its lean from fuel or timing? Or just something hanging the throttle?

RM_guy

Damn Yankees
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 21, 2000
North East USA
Good point on the timing. Chris, did you line up the marks like it shows in the manual when you re-installed the stator?

1998RM250

Nov 5, 2008
Yeah I made sure the timing was dead on, and this plug is a little wet still from before when my stator was dying! I'm 99% sure its not the throttle, the boots have no holes, and everything in the carb was right. This bike has been such a mystery since I got it, so much for an ex supercross bike maintained by a crew.

ellandoh

dismount art student
~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Aug 29, 2004