2stroke

Nov 7, 2001
Ok.
This year I have finally decided to put my old Kaw streetbike on the road, a '72 S2 triple. I got tags and insurance and a learners permit. <groan>.

I got the permit 6 months ago. After having the permit for 3 months, I called to set up my driver's test. The automated system had me punch in my license number and it offered me a testing date that was way off in the future, 3 months away! I canceled the appointment and called again to hold 20 minutes for a live person. I explained that I was a licensed driver who needed to take a test for motorcycles, and I asked why the system was giving me an appointment 3 months away.

"Oh, they make you wait 6 months after you get your permit before you can take your test" She replied.

"Even if you already have a drivers license for an automobile?" I asked.

"Yes, you have to wait six months, thats why the system was giving you that far off date."

Okay, I thought. Sucks, but Ill deal with it. So, I let the weeks go by, and I called again on May 1st to set up my appointment. I called a live person this time and she asked me when I got my permit. It had been on the 16th of the month, so I had to wait until after that date in May (the 6th month) to take the test. Fine, I said and got my appointment.

I loaded my bike into my van to take it down there and I got in line. The clerk looked at my permit and told me it had expired. I asked her what did she mean, and she said that the permit was only good for 6 months. I asked her why in the HELL did they make me wait 6 months to take the test?! She told me that I only had to wait 2 weeks, not 6 months. I told her that a computer, and two live people on 2 different dates told me I had to wait 6 months, in fact that was why I had to wait so long....

Asked for a supervisor which was a waste of time. He could not offer me any explanation.