Nebie to site and dirt bikes and need some help please

jmhyz426

May 29, 2008
Well like I said I am new to dirt bikes. My buddy gave me a good deal on a 2000 yz 426, but I have some pretty important questions. First is, without a title on the bike, what are my options to register it? It has a green sticker on it from 2003. I heard that they are valid for a few years, but I didnt want to take a chance.

Next question is, can some recommend a good service manual for this bike that shows steps on doing gerneral repairs and/or rebuilding?

Now last but not least, bike will not kick over. Ran beautiful when purchased, but after riding it around the street for about a hour I let it site for a week and it willnot start. I accidently left fuel switch turned on if that means anything. Also when I do try and kick it over I take all the right steps. Pull black knob out, hold compression lever lightly kick 3 times to find tdc and then kick as had as possible lol. I repeat if it isnt tpc also. Wierd thing is after this problem started, a loud pop comes out of the pipe, and it seems to want to start with the black knob not pulled out.

So yes, I am a newbie. I would appreciate no negative replies lol as I know how forums can be. Just help a brother out !!!! lol

XRpredator

AssClown SuperPowers
Damn Yankees
Aug 2, 2000
If you're green stickered, you're obviously in the People's Republic of California. I know up here in Idaho you can apply for a lost title and they will search the VIN and see if the bike is hot. If not, they will issue a new title. I'm sure California has a similar process.

Yamaha has a pretty decent service manual from the factory. Clymers are good too.

the "black knob" is the choke, and you'll need to use it when you start it cold. Pay attention to the "red knob" also, for those starts when the engine is hot. A new plug and maybe a valve adjustment might be in order for an 8 year old machine.

jmhyz426

May 29, 2008