SEM66

Dec 15, 2005
I did a search, but didn't find anything that answered these q's....
I'm looking for my first dirt bike....I have years of road experience with sportbikes, Harleys, and even a custom chopper. But I just came to the realization that my cycle of revenge against my mom will not be complete until I get a mx'er....hehehehe

Only reason I bring that up is because as far as dirt goes, I am a complete novice. I am 5'11" and 185. I live right on a greenbelt with miles of trails (a couple of my neighbors ride out there on Yamaha enduros), but we also have 2 pretty good tracks in town. I'm not looking to race, but I do like to get on the throttle pretty good and I like having nice stuff.

I was almost 100% sold on the new YZ250f and I was gonna go to the dealer and grab the last yellow one the other day, but luckily i found this site.

I figured the 4 strokes would be quieter - just having basic knowledge. But it sounds like I am way off on that one. Personally, I love the sound of the 2 strokes, so I am a little relieved that they might actually be quieter nowadays ( I still have memories of the local neighborhood teens scaring the hell out of us little kids with their RMs and YZ's back in the early 80's).
Anyway, I have sort of self-guided myself back to 2 strokes because of the sound issue, I don't want to blow the use of the greenbelt for all those who enjoy it. And I remember going to a supercross a few years back and being amazed how quiet the bikes (2's) were.

ALSO, I run a business and the maintainance issue is steering me away from the 4 bangers. I just don't have a heck of a lot of time for checking valves and stuff like that. I do have time for adding trick new parts and accessories though...hehehehehe