the_monk

Sep 1, 2004
Howdy. The wife wants a dirtbike.

I know this has been asked about a million times, but I'm looking for a slightly different answer. I'm looking for lots of different options as to what bikes are suitable. I've only been riding a year, so I'm pretty new to this stuff and don't know what's around. I would like to know new and old bikes alike. 4 stroke or 2. I prefer used to new, and I'm cheap. Oh yeah, I'm also cheap. And I forgot to mention I do all of my own maintenance on everything because I'm cheap.

Due to the light use, I would love to stay around $1000. However, I realize I might need to spend a few hundred more to get something better. My upper limit is around $1500. Personally, I would prefer to get a 3 year old bigger bike for the same price as a new XR150 or something. That's why I'm looking for a list of potential bikes.

Keeping that in mind, here's the answer to oldguy's top ten:
1.) The wifey is 5'3", and ~120.
2.) She is not agressive nor is she physical.
3.) She will probably ride around with the 6 year old in fields and on wide easy trail rides.
4.) She knows how to shift and work the clutch and brakes. That's about it.
5.) She will not race.
6.) I will be doing the maintenance on it. See the cheap comment above.
7.) Neither she nor I are brand loyal. She has asked that the bike match purple so she can get purple gear. I still don't know if she was kidding or not.
8.) Prefer to avoid dealers, and I'm willing to go 4 or 5 years old on a bike.
9.) She will ride at least once a month, sometimes twice a month.
10.) Nothing else comes to mind.

Thanks for any help!

the_monk

Sep 1, 2004
While those are a bit too pricey for my liking, the big-wheel 125's with disk brakes look very interesting... Thanks Chili.

highmileage

Jun 17, 2004