emullen

Aug 6, 2003
I just bought a '99 kdx 200. My past rides were an '86 XR200, then on to a '98 KTM 250MXC, then a '99 KX250 with all the mods. I rode and raced motocross for 3 years until a freak accident which resulted in internal bleeding. I'm just starting to ride again and already miss my KX. This KDX is a nice ride, I just want a powerband like my KX had!! I really want to put a pro-circuit pipe on it, that's what I had on KX, but alot of you say FMF. My question is can anyone tell me the powerband difference. I have a lot of experience jetting and can handle that fine, I will also open up the airbox. Any help greatly appreciated.

Robcolo

Jan 28, 2002
Suggestion: Trade it right now for a KX. A Pro-Circuit pipe probably works better than the FMF [and will most definately fit better] for mid to high RPMs. You can make the KDX engine rip BUT, The rest of the bike is not up to handling any speeds above 3rd gear. Where your KX was pretty stable in 4th & 5th --the KDX is a nightmare. It will cost you a fortune in suspension work or outright swapping forks & shock to get it even close to the KX. If you want it for slow, tight trail work it's one of the best bikes available.

JCW

~SPONSOR~
Jan 23, 2003
I rode KX 250s for years and I like the KDX. Regardless of what you do, it will be a little weaker than the KX, but much easier to ride in the woods and on trails. Regarding making it run like the KX, you definately want an FMF Gnarly Torque/Woods pipe (-35). The pro circuit will be good for mid to top end, but it will not come out of a corner like the KX.

If you are wanting the low end rip like the KX, the -35 is going to get you closer than anything else. You may also want to eventually put the V Force Delta reed cage and reeds on too. If you live in an area where you can keep the speed up, then the pro circuit will be fine. On the other hand, now is the decision time for tweaking the KDX or getting a KX.